LTE on the Samsung Galaxy S3

How fast is LTE?  Let’s just say that my home network does not stand a snowball’s chance in hell when put side by side with LTE.  LTE stands for Long Term Evolution, and uses a variety of technology to connect to different networks.  These technologies allow for extremely high speeds of up to a theoretical 100 Mbps.

Each phone has different speeds it can achieve.  The iPhone 5 can achieve relatively high speeds on LTE (click here for more).  Today however, I want to discuss the Samsung Galaxy S3.  This is Samsung’s flagship phone right now, and it is fast.  The camera is fast, switching between apps is fast, and it runs on both AT&T’s and Verizon’s LTE networks along with a number of other carriers (Sprint, T-Mobile, U.S. Cellular, and C Spire).

Unfortunately, as the Galaxy S3 running on the Verizon network that I tested does not belong to me, I was unable to take the phone to a better location to run speed tests on the network.  However, I was able to compare my iPhone 5′s LTE speed in the same location as the GS3 (Galaxy S3), and the results were almost identical.  Here are the Samsung Galaxy S3 results:

And here are the iPhone 5 results (the 10/8/12 results only, 10/9/12 was performed at my house):

As you can see, both phones reach/near 9 Mbps download speeds.  These are not the fastest results in the world, but if you look closely at the GS3′s results, you notice that the speeds achieved were done so with only 2 bars.  If the phone were taken into an area with full bars of LTE, I imagine the speeds achievable would be much higher.

Here are some results out of Austin, Texas with the Galaxy S3 on both the Verizon & AT&T LTE networks:

 

As you can see in the video, the phones reach close to 20 Mbps download speeds.  Seeing as my home network used to achieve around 2Mbps download speed, it would almost be worth it to get rid of my home network and use the Mobile Hotspot feature on a phone like the Samsung Galaxy S3.  I have said it before, and I will say it again: LTE is fast.

One comment on “LTE on the Samsung Galaxy S3

Leave a Reply

